≡ Menu

The Beauty of Brahms

Saturday, October 1, 2022 | 7:30 p.m.

in Foellinger Great Hall, Krannert Center for the Performing Arts

RANJBARAN: Violin Concerto
BRAHMS: Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, Op. 68

Elissa Lee Koljonen, violin

CUSO begins the season with exciting new sounds and old musical friends. The brilliantly talented Elissa Lee Koljonen returns to the Foellinger Great Hall stage to perform the mesmerizing Violin Concerto by the Persian composer Bezhad Ranjbaran. First championed by violinist Joshua Bell, this concerto has been praised for its exotic sounds and lustrous harmonies. The Symphony No. 1 of Brahms is among the composer’s most beloved works. Its big-shouldered and majestic outer movements are contrasted by the singing lyricism of its inner movements. Join CUSO for a night of memorable music-making!

$40 standard/$36 senior/$10 youth, student of any age

COVID-19 Safety Protocols:

At this time, neither masking nor proof of vaccination or a negative test are required to attend performances at Krannert Center. Changes would take place if and when appropriate and would be posted on the Krannert Center website, accessed here.