≡ Menu

All the World’s A Stage

Saturday, January 26, 2019 | 7:30 p.m.

in Foellinger Great Hall, Krannert Center for the Performing Arts

Carol Cook © Todd Rosenberg Photography

ROSSINI: The Barber of Seville Overture
SCHUBERT: Symphony No. 5 in B-Flat Major, D. 485
GARROP: Krakatoa
STRAVINSKY: Pulcinella Suite

Carol Cook, viola

This colorful program takes volcanos as its subject. CUSO welcomes Carol Cook, principal viola with the Lyric Opera of Chicago, to perform Composer-in-Residence Stacy Garrop’s new viola concerto, Krakatoa, a work that is as dramatic and explosive as the title would suggest.

Rossini’s bubbly overture to The Barber of Seville and Schubert’s lovely Symphony No. 5 both date from 1816, “The Year Without a Summer,” caused by the 1815 eruption of Mount Tambora. Stravinsky’s delightful suite from Pulcinella will highlight many solo instruments of the orchestra.