≡ Menu

Messages from Gaia

Wednesday, September 5, 2018 | 5:15–6:00 p.m.

The Illinois Ballroom, iHotel

1900 S. First Street, Champaign


Phoenix Rising for solo flute

Amanda Pond, flute

From Terra Nostra, accompanied by string quartet:

Soprano Aria: A Child Said, What is the Grass?
Josefien Stoppelenburg, soprano

Baritone Aria: Smile, O voluptuous cool-breathed earth!
Ryan DeRyke, baritone

String Quartet No. 3: Gaia

I. Gaia
II. Creation of Mother Earth
III. Dance of the Earth
IV. Lamentation
V. …et in terra pax

Maria Arrua, Violin I
Aaron Jacobs, Violin II
Robin Kearton, Viola
Barbara Hedlund, Cello

Meet Maestro Alltop and Composer Stacy Garrop at the reception immediately following the concert.
Light refreshments will be served.

The CUSO “Messages from Gaia” Chamber Concert is a program of the Music Alive residency of composer Stacy Garrop, sponsored by the League of American Orchestras and New Music USA. Major funding for Music Alive comes from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with additional support from The Aaron Copland Fund for Music, The Amphion Foundation, The ASCAP Foundation Bart Howard Fund, the Francis Goelet Charitable Lead Trusts, and the National Endowment for the Arts.